Become Air Condition (HVAC) Certified in Two Weeks
(512) 410-4807 (512) 339-0993
Training and Schedule
Central Texas AC and Refrigeration School is committed to bringing you a consistently high level of training. You can quickly get the skills necessary to get you on the road to career success in the Heating, Ventilation and Air-Conditioning (HVAC) and Refrigeration Systems field. Here is a quick list of what you will be trained on.
Central Texas AC and Refrigeration School offers small hands-on and convenient day, night and Saturday classes. It is convenient and easy as ever to change your life with a new career today. Take a look below at our class offerings.
|Full Time/Part Time||Days||Class Hrs||Length|
|Full Time Day Class||Monday – Friday||8 a.m. to 5 p.m.||2 1/2 weeks|
|Part Time Night Class||Tues/Wed/Thurs||7 p.m. to 10 p.m||12 weeks|
|Part Time Sat. Class||Saturday Only||8 a.m. to 5 p.m||12 weeks|
EPA Certification Test and Training Seminar:
|Part of your training will include training and testing for Federal EPA certification. Because your certification is through the EPA, a Federal Agency of the US Government, your certification is valid in all 50 states and Canada.
Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires that all persons who maintain, service, repair or dispose of appliances that contain regulated refrigerants be certified in proper refrigerant handling techniques. The EPA has also placed a sales restriction on refrigerants, limiting the sale of regulated refrigerants to certified technicians only. Technicians who violate the Clean Air Act provisions may be fined, lose their certification, and may be required to appear in Federal court.
There are four categories of certification:
Type I – Persons who maintain, service or repair small appliances must be certified as Type I Technicians
SECTION 608 EXAM FORMAT: EPA regulations require the test to be a “closed book” proctored exam. The only outside materials allowed are a temperature / pressure chart, scratch paper and a calculator. The certification exam contains 4 sections – CORE – Type I – Type II – Type III. Each section contains 25 multiple choice questions. The technician must achieve a passing score of 70% in each Type in which they are to be certified. All technicians must pass the CORE section before receiving any certification. A technician seeking certification must correctly answer 18 out of 25 questions on the CORE and at least one other section of the exam. A technician seeking Universal certification must correctly answer 18 out of 25 questions on each section of the exam.
EPA training seminar and testing for Universal or various type of certification as follow:
EPA Test and Rules:
SECTION 608 EXAM FORMAT: EPA regulations require the test to be a “closed book” proctored exam. The only outside materials allowed are a temperature / pressure chart, scratch paper and a calculator. You may select the type of the test (Type I, Type II and Type III) at the beginning or at the end of the test. Please remember you will be graded only on the types you select.
Universal Certification – you need to pass Core, Type I, Type II and Type III Certifications
Note: For Universal Certification, you must answer all 100 questions on the test. And you must get at least 18 correct answers on each section (Core, Type I, Type II and Type III)
If you pass the CORE section and Type II for example, but get less than 18 correct answers on Type III, you will be certified for Type II only. Once certified for any technician type you will not be required to re-take the CORE questions. You will, however, need to show your next proctor your wallet card showing the technician types for which you are already certified.
The certificates will be issued to those applicants with passing grades; those students should receive their certificates within two weeks. If you do not pass the test you will need to retake the sections that you did not pass at an additional charge at a later date.
Note: There will be no refund given, however, you may reschedule for a later date. No more than two rescheduled dates are allowed. If the seminar and/or test is not taken after two rescheduled dates (or 90 days, whichever comes first), the full amount is due and payable for seminar and/or test.
Each additional test will cost $45.00 regardless of whether you take one section or all sections.